Mika Immonen


Name Date of Birth Country
Mika Immonen 17-12-1972 Finland
Name : Mika Immonen (17.12.1972)
Mika Immonen (born 17 December 1972) is a Finnish professional pool player, nicknamed “the Ice Man.”
He won the WPA World Nine-ball Championship in Cardiff, Wales in 2001. That same year, he was the runner-up to Corey Deuel in the US Open Nine-ball Championship
In 2002 he won the UPA International Ten-ball Championship.
He has represented Team Europe on thirteen occasions in the Mosconi Cup, most recently in 2013. During the 2008 event Mika was crowned MVP, forever banishing bad memories of a costly miss in the final game of the 2006 event.
In early 2009, Mika was awarded the title of Player of the Year. Subsequently, he also claimed that title for season 2009 and was awarded early 2010.
Mika was born in London, England, and is also an extremely accomplished snooker player, having amassed more than 100 century breaks.
Mika is a two-time Men’s Division title-holder of the US Open Nine-ball Championship, where the world’s top professional billiard players compete in Chesapeake, Virginia. In 2009 Mika won 14 straight matches, finishing with a close 13-10 victory over Ralf Souquet in the finals. On October 26, 2008, Mika claimed a 13-7 victory and pocketed the first-place prize of US$40,000 against runner-up Filipino Ronato Alcano, who settled for $20,000.
Immonen nearly won his second world title at 2009 World Straight Pool Championship, but was defeated in the finals by Stephan Cohen of France. Also in 2009, Immonen bested Darren Appleton to win the International Challenge of Champions, a tournament where he once reached the finals in 2002 but lost the sudden-death rack to Efren Reyes.
In Late November 2009 Mika finally won his second World Title in Manila at the WPA World Ten-ball Championships. He Dominated the Philippine hope Lee Van Corteza in the finals 11-6.
In September 2016, in Astoria (New York), he won for the first time the World 14.1 Tournament title, beating in the finals Earl Strickland 300-270.
2000 Sudden Death Seven-ball Champion
2001 WPA World Nine-ball Championship
2002 LG Flatron Challenge Champion
2002 UPA International Ten-ball Champion
2003 On Cue; Philippines vs. Europe
2003 Philippine Open Champion
2004 Atlanta Open Champion
2004 UPA Pro Tour Champion
2005 Atlanta Open Champion
2006 Norway Open Champion
2006 Weert Open & invitational 7-ball Champion
2007 Derby City Straight Pool Champion
2007 Korean Pro Tour Champion
2008 US Open 9-Ball Champion
2008 IPT Pro-Am Champion
2008 Mosconi Cup MVP
2008 All Japan Champion
2009 Galveston World Classic 10-ball Champion
2009 US Open 9-Ball Champion
2009 WPA World Ten-ball Championship
2009 Mezz Classic 10-Ball Event
2009 Blackpool Open
2009 Joss NE 9-Ball Tour Stop
2009 Tri State Tour Stop
2009 Predator Tour Stop
2009 Joss NE 9-Ball Tour Stop
2009 The Challenge of Champions
2009 Qatar International Open Champion
2010 International Challenge of Champions
2010 Ozone 10-Ball Championships, Louisiana
2010 Poison Doubles 8-ball Championships, Louisiana (with Rodney Morris)
2010 Mezz Tour stop in Skyline Billiards
2010 Mezz tour stop in Atlantic City Billiards
2012 World Cup of Pool Champion (Doubles with Petri Makkonen)
2013 Ultimate 10-Ball Championship | Men’s Division (Champion)
2014 BCA Hall of Fame inductee
2016 World 14.1 Tournament